Friday, October 07, 2016

An Audio Book Review of Troy Hallewell's The Land of Falling Stars.

Title: The Land of Falling Stars 
Author: Troy Hallewell 
Narrator: Troy Hallewell
  • Length: 1 hr and 16 mins 
  • Publisher: Asgard Publishing
My Rating: 3*
Long ago the earth changed. Billions died. Cities crumbled and civilization as we know it perished.
But humanity's drive to live is a stubborn thing, and in the ashes of the old world a new world was reborn. Born of bullets, battle-hardened men and woman scratched out a life on the empty plains of the land now known only as "The Waste". But in a world where every day is a fight for survival a full belly is a luxury, and living long enough to see another rising sun is a success.
In The Land of Falling Stars join young Rock Wanderer as he travels the Waste searching for his mother and doing what it takes to stay alive, all while deciding just what sort of a man he wants to grow into.
If he lives long enough to become a man at all, that is.

My Review: I received a copy from the author/narrator in exchange for an honest review. This was my first foray into Troy Hallewell's After Civilisation series and I enjoyed it for the most part. It was just two sections long and the story was well told. It had a fair bit of depth for an hour and a quarter's worth of listening but for me it was spoiled by the music and singer between the sections. This is just a personal preference for my audiobooks to be all narration as I like to hear it the way I would read it without musical interruptions (also the reason I marked it down to 3*). If you have already read RazorWire: After Civilization, Book 1 you will have already met the main character as this is a short story told from when he is still a young boy. I know I will be getting an audio copy of RazorWire as soon as I have credits to spare :D

No comments:

Post a Comment

Feel free to tell me what you think.